picks : golden globes, golden dresses

The Golden Globes happened Sunday and much to no one’s surprise, ladies wore dresses. Some of them, rather spectacular. Some of them, less so. But who am I to judge? There certainly isn’t a vintage YSL gown hanging in my closet just waiting to be whipped out the second my award show invite flies into my lap.

If there were, it would probably be wrinkly anyway. My closet it too short for gowns.

Sigh.

Luckily for me, I have a rather vivid imagination that can paint a superbly realistic portrait of myself in some of my favourite gowns. My picks generally tend to err on the side of sparkly and form-fitting, which conveniently were abundant this year.

The best dressed were pretty universally agreed upon this year, making me wonder if stylists are getting better or critics are more easily pleased than usual. These women to do look quite stunning, so maybe we’re just ready to accept [and praise] those who know how to work the red carpet without any unnecessary drama.

Here are my favourites:

Golden Globes 2011

January Jones in Versace - She's already taken a slew of "inappropriate" reviews for this dress, but I quite love it. She looks stunning and there's no more skin showing than if she was just wearing a strap-less dress.

Golden Globes 2011 - Emma Stone - Calvin Klein

Emma Stone in Calvin Klein - In my opinion, the perfect way to "flaunt it if you've got it"; she's young, beautiful, in great shape, when else can you wear a skin-tone skin-tight dress?

Golden Globes - Catherine Zeta-Jones - Monique Lhuillier

Catherine Zeta-Jones in Monique Lhuillier. Beautiful. Elegant. Sometimes playing in your safe zone really does pay off.

Leighton Meester

Leighton Meester in Burberry - She's been working hard to out-style co-star Blake Lively and is doing a great job. This dress stands out from the rest of the 20-something girls on the carpet and Leighton pulls it off perfectly, something not all of those girls might have been able to do. And the LV clutch? Perfection.

Jane Fonda

Jane Fonda in George Hobeika - Now here's what I love, women outside of their 30s having fun with fashion without trying to look like they're in their 30s. Helen Mirren has been holding court in this category, but is there a new leader in tow?

Anne Hathaway

Anne Hathaway in Armani Privé - Clearly the Anne name brings along some cosmic connection, this dress would have been my pick given the chance.

And let’s not forget these other just as important categories:

SHOES!

Golden Globes 2011

Olivia Wilde in Marchesa and Christian Louboutin shoes. The dress is nice and likely better in person, but the shoes! The shoes! My heart aches for them.

HAIR:

Golden Globes 2011 - Sandra Bullock - Jenny Packham

Sandra Bullock in Jenny Packham - The dress is lovely and flattering, but the hair is what caught my eye. The new bangs look stunning on the ever gorgeous miss Bullock.

Photos taken from InStyle.com. Photo of Olivia Wilde, taken from TheSuperficial.com

One response to “picks : golden globes, golden dresses

  1. My 2 cents: Anne Hathaway and Emma Stone are the best dressed. They both look fresh and modern while still being elegant. Not sure what I think of January Jones’ dress, but at least it is modern. I’m kind of sick of seeing dresses that could be described as “ball gowns” on the red carpet.

Leave a Reply

