I [luchador mask] NY

This one’s for Adam. Via AdWeek Blog

Authenticity.

While it’s likely one of the most over-used words in the industry right now, it’s also incredibly relevant. Recent years have made consumers more educated and selective than ever and frankly, I think that’s a great thing. It forces brands to find a genuine character, with a bit of humanity and minimal ego (luxury market excluded, but we’ll talk about that later in the week).  A lot of what makes up authenticity in simply brand character. Who is this brand? It’s not enough to sell a product, you’ve go to do it with personality.

There are many ways to show this personality, but one that isn’t commonly used – or at least not well – is leveraging someone else’s character to say something about yourself. It’s a tricky thing to do, especially when nostalgia is involved (let’s not relive any awkward teenage moments for an entire audience, ok?). But when it’s done well, it’s just irresistible.

What’s got me thinking of all this?

Tacos.

Yep, tacos. Delicious, filling, healthy, simple. Everyone loves a taco.

So how to do you give your taco brand a unique personality?

By leveraging a well known icon: the diner.

During a walk through Soho we stumbled across la Esquina Taqueria and were instantly enamored. Their sign was reminiscent of old school diners, complete with fluorescent lights and the words “The Corner Deli.” The connection couldn’t have been more perfect. Diners are places to go to feel welcome and to get delicious, simple, satisfying food. No muss. No fuss. Just a meal to make you smile. And isn’t that really the essence of a great taco as well?

So in short, when figuring out your brands character, remember to look out of the box. Sometimes there’s a perfect match hiding just around the corner waiting to take your breath away.

And in the meantime, make sure to check out la Esquina Taqueria for the freshest, cheapest, most delicious tacos around. Avocado and bean will get you set for your day, and veal tongue will apparently cure what ails you.

One response to “I [luchador mask] NY

  1. I love that places like these still exist in ever changing Manhattan. I walked past la Esquina Taqueria last week. I’m a huge sucker for any kind of Mexican food. I had just finished eating at Sugar Cafe, but the Neon lights sucked me in like a mosquito. Unfortunately I was stuffed, but I made a mental note that I was going to check it out the next opportunity I got. I appreciate your write up about their brand, because I knew it was more than just the seasoned beef that was calling my name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

