sometimes, I make things

It’s a funny thing when you grow up in a very artistic and creative environment and yet find yourself completely inept in most of the traditional fields. My drawing skills plateaued at the age of 11. Dance skills made a valiant effort but barely got their feet off the ground. And the signing voice? It followed the musical instrument skills down the toilet before I even had a chance to beg for a moment of their time.  

There was a time in my life when I was thought to be a talented writer, of course that time is so far past I’ve forgotten if it was when I wrote in English or French. (Thus, one of the reasons for starting this blog – force that talent back into the proverbial light). So while I spent years chasing the creativity dragon, I managed to fall into something that to me seemed only natural, but to others has become some kind of miraculous talent owned by very few : baking. 

As is the case with most French Canadians, my sweet tooth knows no bounds. And with food & family being such an important part of the culture, my kitchen training started at a very young age. I specialized in baked goods. Now, years later, baking is simply something I do to unwind, or celebrate, or kill time, or, well you get the point. It’s something I do often and for any reason I can manage to make up. What’s been really surprising though is the response – people are really, truly appreciative of quality desserts and even more so, are genuinely impressed that anyone they know can make them. To me, baking is just a regular part of life, but as it turns out, all of the talent I lack in other areas seems to have concentrated itself into my whisking arm. 

So while my dream to become a rock star may never be fulfilled, I can take comfort in the fact that they probably don’t know how to make truffles like I do. 

So today, I leave you with a few of my favourite creations. 

Bon Appétit!

Cappuccino Mousse Truffle

White Chocolate Cupcake w/ Candied Kumquat

Coffee Toffee

Gingerbread Cake

Mini Blueberry+Peach Pie w/ Cinnamon Sugar

Dark Chocolate Cupcake w/ Marshmellow Buttercream, dipped in dark chocolate

 

Leave a Reply

